WHAT AM I?

What am I? Am I a Digital Resident or a Digital Visitor? Before deciding which one am I, let’s look into what they are individual.

Digital Resident

Digital Resident refers to someone who views the Web as a platform for them to share information and communicate with their friends and family about their daily life. Resident creates an online identity of themselves as they feel comfortable in expressing themselves on social networking sites, such as Facebook and Twitter. The platforms provide them a sense of belonging in the virtual world.

Digital Visitor

Digital Visitor refers to someone who views the Web as a platform for them to use only when the need arises. Digital Visitor does not have an identity and appears anonymous to others. Visitor prefers to socialize face-to-face as compared to using online as a platform for socializing.

Conclusion

Digital Resident and Digital Visitor are the two extreme end of a spectrum. Living in the 21st century, technology has changed the way we communicate with one another. It is impossible to interact without the use of technology. However, every individual engages the Web differently.

new-piktochart_25974185

Based on the self-test for the current level of digital literacy, I concluded that I am more of a “Visitor” than a “Resident”. In most of it, I rank myself low or close to no experience. Even though I use social media to communicate with my friends, I do not feel comfortable to express my personal opinion on the Web.

Living in this century with the fast-moving technologies, I have to improve my knowledge about the Web to be prepared for the future.

Through this module, I hope to understand more about the digital world and make use of the knowledge that I learnt in the future.

(294 words)

Reference

White, D. S., & Cornu, A. L. (2011). Visitors and Residents: A new typology for online engagement. (Accessed on 09/11/2017)

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑